Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I was sitting at my desk at work reading news articles, which is actually a part of my job. I read the political, sports and world news articles but try to steer clear of the fashion and entertainment ones. However, some of the are like reality television shows; I just can’t look away. One thing that manages to crop up time and time again are idiotic people who act without proper thought. This brought me to the idea of proclaiming my personal IDIOT OF THE MONTH award.
This one was hard actually. This past month, I have seen Richard Heene, the Balloon Boy’s dad, who deserves an honorable mention.
This month’s runner-up has had my fascination as the IDIOT OF MANY MONTHS for few months. I think that Jon Gosselin is a first class douche. Just when I think to myself “He just can’t get any worse”, he always does. I am sure he will do his best to be reseated in the number one spot again. He just can’t seem to screw his head on straight and get his act together. Step out of the light, Jon, step out of the light.
As award-winning as Jon is, this month belongs to Mr. Lamar Odom. The 6-foot, 10 inch, 208 pound foward for the Los Angeles Lakers has been in the league for the last decade. However, in the dating league, I am not so sure. This past month, Lamar Odom married Khloe Kardashian, the older sister and reality television co-star of Kim Kardashian. Now my views on the Kardashian trio are what they are and we will leave them buried for now. No doubt, like Jon, there will be a need for a blog on them in the future.
Let’s look at the Kardashian-Odom story simplified. Boy meets girl. Boy dates girl for thirty days. Boy marries girl. Three weeks after the ceremony, prenuptial agreement is signed. Boy agrees to terms of prenuptial agreement. Boy and girl get matching tattoos. Boy and girl live happily ever after. You think? Here is where I qualify Mr. Odom for his trophy.
While meeting, dating and marrying the love of your life is always great, a thirty day courtship should be cause for question. Yes, there is true love. Yes, love at first sight may exist. However, a little investigation of character flaws and personality analysis may take longer than that. It should when signing up for what’s supposed to be a lifetime contract. Yes, he’s a professional athlete and she is a socialite and “TV star” but where in this month did he start ignoring the flashing, bright neon sign that says GOLD DIGGER. How does she not know that he isn’t abusive? Oh well, that to the side, let’s move on to the next point.
Lamar’s next questionable move, to me, is a two-parter. First, let’s discuss prenuptial agreements in general. Correct me if I am wrong, but doesn’t PRE mean BEFORE! Last I checked, that document should have been signed before the “I DO”s. I know in this day and time there are Postnuptial agreements so I will let this go. I applaud Lamar for wanting to protect his interest but…when telling his bride-to-be at the time that he wanted a prenup, the first thing she did was lawyer up. I don’t think that I would like to be married to someone that I need a contract with. It defeats the words “for better for worse, for richer for poorer, in sickness and in health”. However, that’s just my thinking.
The demands that Lamar Odom agreed to give Khloe in case of divorce are: $500,000 for every year the couple were married, $25,000 a month in general support, ownership of their new home (not even purchased yet), a new luxury vehicle at the end of every lease cycle, $5,000 a month for shopping, $1,000 for beauty care and lifetime courtside Lakers tickets for her family. Call me crazy but I don’t think Lamar is getting the better end of this deal. Hey, love means more than money, right?
Well, the icing on this particular cake for me are the matching tattoos that the couple got on their hands. The tattoos are very nice monograms of the couple’s initials. Odom has gotten “KO” tattooed on his hand and Kardashian received “LO” on hers. I may be a skeptic but I once again think that Lamar drew the short straw. If ( and I hope for Lamar’s sake the question never occurs) the couple parts ways, Khloe’s “LO” could serve as a derivative of her own name of course. On the other hand, Lamar’s “KO” can serve as an abbreviation for the Knock-out this marriage just may give him.
Let’s hope the loving couple remembers ” to love and to cherish” until death do them part. Let’s also hope that death is in old age. Does any one know if O.J. was invited?